AUS vs SL: Australia Announced Their Squads For Sri Lanka Tour

AUS vs SL Australia Announced Their Squads For Sri Lanka Tour
Source: Twitter
Article top

AUS vs SL: Andrew McDonald’s first tour as the permanent head coach has brought about significant adjustments in all 3 formats. Pat Cummins will captain a 16-man squad for the two-Test series in Galle, whereas Aaron Finch will captain an enhanced white-ball squad. Marcus Harris was left out of the Test team despite surrendering his spot at the top of the lineup to Usman Khawaja during the Aussie summer.

Cummins shall forgo the T20 series to prepare for the Test and ODI series, meanwhile Adam Zampa also skips the series for the birth of his first child.

Following Justin Langer’s departure, Andrew McDonald took charge of the squad on an interim basis in Pakistan, clinching the Test series as part of the World Test Championship (WTC) and the single T20I in a victorious campaign. Notwithstanding speculations and demands for his inclusion for the Test part of the tour, Glenn Maxwell has been picked for both the ODI and T20I teams.

Despite WTC points on the horizon, the visitors cannot risk a repeat of their previous visit to Sri Lanka, which ended in a 3-0 defeat. Galle was not really a great hunting ground for Australia in the 2nd Test of the series, as they were knocked out for 106 and 183, finally losing by 229 runs.

Mostly on the white-ball frontline, the tourists performed much better, capturing both the T20I and ODI series comfortably. An Aussie ‘A’ side will also visit Sri Lanka, where they will play 2 four-day fixtures.

Australia squads for the Sri Lanka tour:

Australian Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (VC), Ashton Agar, David Warner, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus, Mitchell Marsh, Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson

Tests Schedule:
June 29 – July 3: First Test, Galle
July 8 – July 12: Second Test, Galle

Australian ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, David Warner, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson

ODI Schedule:
June 14: First ODI, Kandy
June 16: Second ODI, Kandy
June 19: Third ODI, Colombo
June 21: Fourth ODI, Colombo
June 24: Fifth ODI, Colombo

Australian T20I Squad: Aaron Finch (c) Sean Abbott, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Marcus Stoinis

T20I Schedule:
June 7: First T20I, Colombo
June 8: Second T20I, Colombo
June 11: Third T20I, Kandy

Australia A squad: Scott Boland, Sean Abbott, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Henry Hunt,  Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Nic Maddinson, Jhye Richardson, Mark Steketee, Tanveer Sangha,

Matched Content Ad