Asia Cup 2022 Schedule Announced

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule
Image Source:
Article top

The moment we were waiting for is finally over. The schedule for the next Asia Cup 2022 competition is released by Jay Shah, the head of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). The T20 tournament will begin on August 27 and end on September 11 with the final being played on September 10.

Dubai will host the final, with Sharjah and Dubai serving as the other venues for the 2022 Asia Cup. Due to the continuous unrest in Sri Lanka’s economy and social structure, the tournament was originally scheduled to be held there but had to be moved to the UAE.

The high-profile encounter between India and Pakistan will take place on August 28 in Dubai, with the first game taking place on August 27 between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. All games will start at 7:30 P.M IST.

ACC president Jay Shah revealed the schedule for the same on Twitter: “The wait is finally over as the battle for Asian supremacy commences on 27th August with the all-important final on 11th September. The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will serve as ideal preparation ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup.”

The Asia Cup 2022 is being played in a T20 format where 6 teams will meet to justify their supremacy. The already qualified 5 teams are India, Pakistan, Srilanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. The qualifiers that are going to be held just before the commencement of the tournament will decide the 6th entry.

Almost all of the countries that have qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022 are in preparatory mode and are playing T20I games in the form of bilateral series. India is currently touring West Indies, Bangladesh is touring Zimbabwe while Pakistan is all set to play a 7 match long T20I series against the mighty England at their home.

The trophy will also serve as a preparation for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 that will take place in Australia. The team that wins the cup will already solidify its contention in the race to win the supreme T20 trophy.

Matched Content Ad