Asia Cup 2021 Has Been Officially Postponed For Two Years- ACC

Asia Cup 2021 Postponed
Image Source-

The Asia Cup was originally set for 2021 by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), but it has now been delayed and rescheduled for 2023. Due to the second wave of the coronavirus pandemic, the ACC has decided to postpone the Asia Cup for the next two years. Stay with us to know the reasons why Asia Cup 2021 Postponed

The decision to delay was a tough one: ACC

“The ACC Executive Board, in face of the risks and restrictions posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, had made the difficult decision to postpone the Asia Cup 2020 to 2021,” the council said in a media release. Since that time, the ACC has been meeting with its participants and sponsors to continue to get the event on track for the rest of the year.

According to the ICC Future Tours Programme (FTP), there is no realistic time in the year when any of the teams will participate. As a result, the Board has thoroughly considered the situation and concluded that postponing the case is the only possible solution. Due to the fact that the Asia Cup is already scheduled for 2022, this edition of the competition will only be conducted in 2023. Dates will be announced as soon as possible.”

The PCB and SLC exchanged hosting rights.

The tournament has been postponed for the second year in a row due to the ACC’s decision to postpone it. The tournament was supposed to take place in September of last year, but it never happened. After the Pakistan Cricket Board shared hosting rights with Sri Lanka Cricket for the next two editions of the championship, the council considered a June window in 2021 to play the tournament, with Sri Lanka serving as hosts. Pakistan will host the 2022 edition, while Sri Lanka will host the 2023 edition.

T20I and ODI formats have alternated in the Asia Cup since 2016. Since 2008, Pakistan has not hosted the tournament. The first edition was held in Sri Lanka in 2010, followed by three more in Bangladesh. India won the 2018 Asia Cup in the UAE, which was won by Rohit Sharma’s team.

Also read: It’s Honor For Virat Kohli’s Dominance – David Warner Replies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here