Ashes 2019 – England’s 14-Man Squad For The First Test Against Australia

After Ollie Robinson, England Cricket Hit By Another Offensive Posts
Image Source:
Article top

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced their 14-man squad of the first Ashes against Australia, starting on August 1 at Edgbaston.

Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler who were rested in the Ireland Test were taken into the squad with Ben Stokes being re-appointed as the Vice-Captain of the team. Jason Roy, Rory Burns,  and Joe Denly who has struggled largely in the match against Ireland were retained in the squad.

“Stokes returns to the role for the first time since September 2017 and assumes responsibility from Jos Buttler,” – ECB said.

Fast bowler Olly Stone, who picked three wickets in the first innings of the test match against Ireland was included in the squad. James Anderson who has recovered from the right calf is expected to be fit for the first test.

“Though it is unusual to select a squad of 14 for a home Test, there are compelling reasons to do so here. Several bowlers are recovering from injuries or niggles. In addition, some bowlers who played in the World Cup are being closely monitored to assess their preparation for Test match cricket. The wider circumstances – a successful home World Cup campaign followed so quickly by a home Ashes series – are unprecedented. It feels sensible to select an expanded squad and leave a number of bowling options open for the final team selection.” – National Selector Ed Smith said.

After an impressive play in England’s successful ICC World Cup campaign, Barbados-born fast bowler Jofra Archer was called up into the squad.

Sam Curran, who was one of the better players for the home team in the erstwhile game and was also the player of the series in the home series against India, was also included in the squad.

England Squad For The First Ashes Test:

  1. Joe Root (captain)
  2. Moeen Ali
  3. Jimmy Anderson
  4. Jofra Archer
  5. Jonny Bairstow
  6. Stuart Broad
  7. Rory Burns
  8. Jos Buttler
  9. Sam Curran
  10. Joe Denly
  11. Jason Roy
  12. Ben Stokes (vice-captain)
  13. Olly Stone
  14. Chris Woakes
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here