Schutt threw the greatest figures in WBBL history to lead Adelaide Strikers to a 26-run victory over Thunders 

AS-w vs ST-w
Article top

Adelaide Strikers Women vs Sydney Thunders Women

AS-w vs ST-w: Strikers claimed the second spot after defeating Thunders in the final game of the group stages 

On Thursday night, Adelaide Strikers will host the winner of Eliminator. After Megan Schutt recorded the greatest WBBL numbers to secure a 26-run victory over Sydney Thunder and second place on the standings. To move ahead of Brisbane Heat and into second place on the table, the Strikers needed to defeat the bottom-placed team, ruining the Thunder’s farewell to captain Rachael Haynes.

Good Start 

The Strikers reached 4-144 with Laura Wolvaardt’s 56-ball 75 not out, which was the key contribution in an inning in which Deandra Dottin (23) and Maddie Penna (18no) were the only other players to reach double figures.

Tammy Beaumont’s quick start for the Thunder in response 37 of 27 was aided by the Strikers’ all-star bowling attack, which was spearheaded by Megan Schutt’s 6/19 but the hosts were eventually bowled out for 119.

Important Breakthroughs 

In the second over, Schutt took the crucial wicket of Phoebe Litchfield, the Thunder’s opener, before coming back to completely demolish the Thunder order with three wickets in four balls. She continued by adding two more in the final over to break Amanda-Jade Wellington’s previous record of twice taking 5/8. Wellington plays for the Strikers.

After the game, Haynes, who was benched for six, received a guard of honor. The Strikers knew going into the game that they controlled their own destiny and that a win would tie them with the Heat, who were forced to split points with the Melbourne Stars in rural Victoria after their game was called off, and who already had a better net run rate.

Next Games 

This means that Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval will host both The Eliminator on Wednesday between the Heat and Hurricanes and The Challenger on Thursday between the Strikers and The Eliminator’s victor.

  1. Brisbane Heat Women vs Hobart Hurricanes Women – Eliminator on 23rd Nov (Wednesday) at 1:40 PM IST
  2. Adelaide Strikers Women vs Winner of Eliminator – Challenger on 24th Nov (Thursday) at 1:40 PM IST
  3. Sydney Sixers Women vs Winner of Challenger – WBBL 08 Final on 26th Nov (Saturday) at 11:50 AM IST
Matched Content Ad