Angelo Mathews Makes A Comeback Into Sri Lanka T20 Squad

Angelo Mathews Makes A Comeback Into Sri Lanka T20 Squad
Angelo Mathews Makes A Comeback Into Sri Lanka T20 Squad

Angelo Mathews back in action

Sri Lanka all-rounder Angelo Mathews was selected in the 16-man squad for the upcoming T20 series against India. This T20 series will start on January 5th at Guwahati.

Angelo Mathews last featured in a T20 match against Australia in August 2018. The 32-year-old all-rounder was suffering from injuries in the last two years.

Kasun Rajitha will replace Nuwan Pradeep.

Nuwan Pradeep, a fast bowler of the Sri Lanka team, who got injured in practice sessions, will be replaced by the 26-year-old fast bowler K Rajitha in the squad.

Schedule of Sri Lanka vs India T20 series.

The Lasith Malinga-led squad departed on Thursday for playing against India. They will undergo practice sessions for the first match which will be held on 5th January. It will be followed by the 2nd match in Indore(January 7) and 3rd match in Pune (January).

Will Sri Lanka continue their Winning strike?

After winning a T20 series against Pakistan with a complete whitewash (3-0), they will strive to win a series against India on Indian pitches. Sri Lankan team wants to start their preparation for T20 World Cup in Australia by winning against India.

The Indian team will, however, give a tough fight to Sri Lanka as they ended the year 2019 on a high. The Virat Kohli-led squad has recalled Bumrah for this series.

Indian Squad against Sri Lanka :

Virat Kohli (C), S Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, R Pant (WK), R Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Y Chahal, K Yadav, J Bumrah, N Saini, S Thakur, Manish Pandey, W Sundar, Sanju Samson.

16-Members Sri Lanka squad

Lasith Malinga (C), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Janith Perera, Niroshan Dickwella(WK), Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Laksha Sandakan.

All is set for the 1st T20 match to be played at Guwahati on January 5.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here