Afghanistan Announces 18-Man Team For 2021 T20 World Cup

IND vs AFG ODI Series
Image Source:
Article top

View below topics in this post

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) named an 18-member team for the next T20 World Cup 2021, which will be held in Oman and UAE from 17th October to  14th November. Here is Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2021.

Unfortunately, due to a team-selection disagreement with the cricketing body, the captain of the team, Rashid Khan, surrendered his captaincy just then, taking to Twitter to explain that the ACB recruitment team can’t take his agreement.

“As the captain and responsible person for the nation, I deserve the right to be part of the selection of the team. The selection committee and ACB have not obtained my consent for the team which has been announced by ACB media. I am taking the decision of stepping down from the role as captain of the Afghanistan T20 side effective immediately,” Rashid wrote on his official Twitter account.


Rashid was made captain of the T20I side in July of this year, despite expressing reservations about taking on the job due to the responsibilities of leadership. He did, however, agreed to take the position later.

Furthermore, Zadrans, Dawlat, and Shapoor made comebacks, along with  Mohammad Shahzad and Hamid Hassan and the squad has 2 backups with Farid Ahmad Malik and Afsar Zazai.


The Taliban’s assault in Afghanistan has thrown Afghanistan cricket into confusion, putting the survival of the national women’s squad in doubt. A major risk of ICC de-recognition remains over the ACB as well, due to the unclear future of the Afghanistan women’s franchise, which is still under Taliban control.

Over the previous month, the supreme cricket body has been closely watching the situation in Afghanistan, but the recent reports don’t really encourage confidence.

However, Afghanistan, which last played T20Is in March versus Zimbabwe under Asghar Afghan, will begin their 2021 T20 WC competition in Sharjah on October 25th.

Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Rashid Khan, Rahmatullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen Ul Haq, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad.

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Farid Ahmad Malik.

Also read: West Indies Announces 15-Man Team For 2021 T20 World Cup

Matched Content Ad