5 Players With Most Players Of The Series Awards In Tests

players with most player of the series awards
players with most player of the series awards

Test cricket is the ultimate format of the game. It tests the best of the game. The different facets of test cricket are not everyone’s cup of tea. Only the best ace the challenge of Tests.

There have been many great Test cricketers across eras who have left their imprint on the game. But there have been just a few whose impact has been unmatchable. They were able to stamp their authority whenever they played the game. These players not only garnered player of the match awards but also won many player of the series awards. 

We look at 5 players with the most player of the series awards in Tests:

#5 Richard Hadlee (8-33 series)

Richard Hadlee was one of the four best all-rounders who competed against each other. He was arguably New Zealand’s best player. There was a popular belief that Hadlee could have picked more wickets and scored more runs had he played for any other team. He played with immense self-belief and almost singlehandedly won many games for the Kiwis. Hadlee won 8 player of the series award in 33 series he contested.

#4 Imran Khan (8-28 series)

Imran Khan was one of the finest all-rounders to have ever played the game. He was a match-winner with both bat and the ball. Khan-led Pakistan to their only World Cup win in 1992. He was such a strong force of nature.

Khan arguably is one of the best inspirational leaders in the sport. His coined term ‘cornered tigers’ egged his team to tremendous success. Khan’s record in the longest format is sensational. He won 8 player of the series award in 28 series. 

#3 Jacques Kallis (9-61 series)

Jacques Kallis is widely regarded as the best all-rounder. His records are simply incomparable. Kallis’ batting numbers echo Sachin Tendulkar’s while his bowling numbers are on par with Zaheer Khan. He was part of South Africa’s golden generation who dominated Test cricket both home and away. Kallis scripted many brilliant victories for the Proteas. He won 9 player of the series award in 61 series.

#2 Ravichandran Ashwin (9-33 series)

Ravichandran Ashwin is the only active Test cricketer on this list. He is undoubtedly been India’s biggest match-winner in Tests right since he made his Test debut. Ashwin breached the 400 wicket mark this year. He soon surpassed Harbhajan Singh’s record of 417 wickets.

Ashwin is unplayable in Indian conditions. He has won consecutive player of the series awards this year at home against both England and New Zealand. Ashwin has now won 9 player of the series award in a mind-boggling 33 series.

#1 Muttiah Muralitharan (11-61 series)

Muttiah Muralitharan has created insurmountable records in Test cricket. He is the only bowler to have taken 800 wickets in the game. Murali won Sri Lanka plenty of games with his magical spin bowling. He was a proven performer against all the leading sides. Muralitharan was Lanka’s biggest hope for almost 2 decades. He has the highest number of player of the series awards. Murali won 11 such awards in the 61 series he was part of.

for more information about Players With Most Players Of The Series Awards In Tests. visit:https://stumpsandbails.com

Matched Content Ad