5 Players Who Won Both The U-19 World Cup & ODI World Cup 

players who won both U-19 and ODI world cups
players who won both U-19 and ODI world cups
Article top

There have been many privileged players who have won the World Cup. While there are a few selected ones who have won it at the U-19 level. But there are only a few Players Who Won Both The U-19 World Cup & ODI World Cup. These players are few and between. They not only contributed to the team’s cause at the junior level but also played starring roles in the senior team’s win.

We look at 5 such Players Who Won Both The U-19 World Cup & ODI World Cup :

#5 Xavier Doherty

Xavier Doherty is a world champion. There are very few cricketers who are blessed to be part of a champion side. Doherty is certainly one of them. He was part of Australia’s U-19 World Cup-winning squad in 2002. Doherty picked a whopping 16 wickets in 7 games. He later was part of Australia’s World Cup-winning campaign in 2015. Doherty though couldn’t get a chance to express himself largely this time around.

#4 Josh Hazlewood

Josh Hazlewood has had a wonderful couple of months. He won the IPL with CSK and later went on to win the T20 World Cup with Australia. Hazlewood was also one of the key members of Australia’s World Cup-winning team in 2015. He has a U-19 World Cup to his name too. Hazlewood won the U-19 World Cup in 2010. He is in fact one among the few rare players to have won every World Cup [across formats and levels].

#3 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli made heads turn when he led India to U-19 World Cup glory in 2008. It was after 8 years that India had managed to win the U-19 World Cup. Kohli then went on to win the ODI World Cup in 2011. He is one of the rare Indian cricketers to have won both the U-19 and the ODI World Cup. Hence despite all claims of him being an unlucky captain is put to rest with these achievements. 

#2 Mitchell Marsh 

Mitchell Marsh’s career has been one rollercoaster ride. His talent was fully and finally realized in the T20 World Cup 2021. Batting at number 3, Marsh tore apart bowling attacks with his sheer power. He put in a player of the match performance in the finals to help Australia win its maiden T20 World Cup title. Marsh thus became one of the few elite cricketers to win a treble of ODI World Cup (2015), T20 World Cup (2021), and U-19 World Cup (2010).

#1 Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is rightly called India’s World Cup man. He was the player of the tournament in the U-19 World Cup in 2000. India won the U-19 World Cup then and Singh soon broke into the senior team. Singh played a stellar role in India’s inaugural T20 World Cup win in 2007. 

He later played a vital role in India’s ODI World Cup win in 2011. Singh incidentally won the player of the tournament here too. No player in the history of the game has had such a celebrated World Cup cabinet.

Matched Content Ad