5 Players Who Were A Part Of The 2007 T20 World Cup And Are Now Part Of This Edition Too

Players Who Were Part Of 2007 And 2021 T20 World Cup
players who played 2007 world cup and will play 2021 edition too
Article top

The T20 World Cup 2021 will be the 7th edition of the tournament. There are only a few seasoned professionals who continue to be part of the T20 setup after all these years. Players who were young and talented back then have now become experienced and nuanced. Teams will immensely benefit from the presence of such players in their sides. Here are Players Who Were Part Of 2007 And 2021 T20 World Cup.

Players Who Were Part Of 2007 And 2021 T20 World Cup

#5 Shoaib Malik

Shoaib Malik was a last-minute addition to Pakistan’s World Cup squad in 2021. He replaced Shoaib Maqsood from the initial squad of 15. Malik’s presence in the squad brings his cricketing career to a complete circle. He was Pakistan’s captain in the inaugural edition of the tournament. Malik led them to the runners-up position. His experience will hold a lot of value for a temperamental Pakistani side in the World Cup.

#4 Chris Gayle

The self-proclaimed universe boss, Chris Gayle was the first player to score a century in the T20 World Cup. Gayle could not take his team through in the first edition but played pivotal roles in their double title-winning campaigns (2012 & 2016). He returns to the Windies squad in a bid to defend their crown. They will become the first team to not just defend but win the trophy thrice. 

#3 Shakib Al Hasan

Shakib Al Hasan is arguably Bangladesh’s greatest player. He is a match-winner for Bangladesh both with the bat and with the ball. Hasan played a starring role in Bangladesh’s shock victory over Windies in the first edition. He will be keen to leave a major impact in this year’s World Cup too. Bangladesh have huge hopes on their talismanic allrounder.

#2 Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo is a T20 legend. He has won the most number of T20 titles across the world. Bravo has played a major role in West Indies dominating the shortest format. He was a vital cog then, he remains a vital cog now. Bravo if anything is a much-improved player than he was 14 years ago. The ‘champion’ bowler will love to add another World Cup title to his name.

#1 Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma was one of India’s unsung heroes in the T20 World Cup-winning campaign. He played crucial knocks whenever the team needed it the most. His 50* on debut against South Africa announced his arrival in international cricket in some style. Sharma’s handy cameo in the finals eventually proved to be the difference between the two sides. Rohit has since then gone on to become a legend across formats. The 2021 T20 World Cup will be a homecoming of sorts for Rohit. He will be waiting to rewrite history!

Also read: Manchester United Owners Show Interest In Owning New IPL Team

Matched Content Ad