Sachin Tendulkar Won The Laureus Sporting Moment Award

Sachin Tendulkar Has Donated Rs 50 Lakh To The Coronavirus Fund
Image Source :

Sachin Tendulkar’s Unharmed Legacy

Sachin Tendulkar is a name that is very well known in the cricket world. Tendulkar is a former cricket player in the Indian team. He is broadly known as one of the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket. And he is also the highest run-scorer of all time in international cricket.

Even after many years of his retirement, Sachin Tendulkar’s effects and records are still safe. His legacy is so fine that the Laureus Sports Award recognized the winning moment of ICC World Cup 2011 to be the winner of Sporting moment 2000-2020.

So many memorable moments have happened in the sports world in these years, but choosing the 2011 win as one of the most iconic moments shows the brilliance of that victory. Thus it is quite a big honor indeed.

Sachin Tendulkar’s Heartfelt Speech

Sachin Tendulkar gave a heartfelt speech while remembering that winning night. After receiving the award, he talked about his cricket journey and the value of the two World Cup victories, which could make any Indian cricket fan nostalgic.

Moreover, India winning the 2011 World Cup was special as it was the first time when a team won the cup on home ground. And luckily Sachin lifted this title in his own hometown, where he started his journey in cricket.

Sachin was honored by Boris Becker and Steve Waugh. The category was voted by fans from all across the world and the Award celebrated the moments from the past twenty years, where sports united people in the most remarkable way.

Here Is The Video Of Tendulkar In The Event

Some Other Award Winners

The British racer Lewis Hamilton and one of the greatest football player Lionel Messi were declared as the combine winners of the Laureus World Sportsman of the year award.

They received the same number of votes, and it happened for the first time in the history of awards when the jury was unable to split Hamilton and Messi.

Meanwhile, American gymnast Simone Biles who won five gold medals at the 2019 World Championships, was honored with the World Sportswoman of the year award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here